Your Guide to T20 World Cup 2021

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup returns this month, five years after the last edition, with 16 teams competing for supremacy in the game’s shortest format.

Here you can learn everything you need to know about T20 World Cup 2021

When exactly does the action begin?

The tournament kicks off on October 17 with a double header. In the first game, Oman will face Papua New Guinea. Bangladesh will face Scotland later in the day. The final will take place on November 14.

Host of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

The BCCI will host the matches, but they will take place in the UAE and Oman. The decision to move the tournament out of India was made in June, in light of the country’s Covid-19 situation and the possibility of a third wave of infections.

Number of Teams

Sixteen (16).


The tournament will consist of two rounds. The first round will consist of eight teams divided into two groups:

Group A: Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands and Sri Lanka.
Group B: Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland.

Every team in its group will play every other team in its group once. After 12 matches in Al Amerat, Sharjah, and Abu Dhabi, the top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 12s, where they will join the top eight T20I teams. The teams will play in two groups once more during the Super 12s phase.

Group 1: A1, Australia, B2, England, South Africa, and West Indies.
Group 2: A2, Afghanistan, B1, India, New Zealand, and Pakistan.

Once again, teams will play each other team in their group once. This round will feature 30 matches, which will take place in Sharjah, Abu Dhabi, and Dubai. Each group’s top two teams will advance to the semi-finals.

Point System

A team will receive two points for a win in both rounds, one point for a tie, no result, or abandonment, and zero points for a loss.

If two or more teams finish with the same number of points in their group, the following parameters will be considered, in the order listed below, to break the tie:

  • Number of victories
  • Net run rate
  • Head-to-head record (points first, then net run rate in that game)
  • Original first-round and Super-12 seedings

Will be DRS (Decision Review System) available in T20 World Cup 2021?

Yes, for the first time in men’s T20 World Cup history, there will be reviews. Each team will be allowed a maximum of two unsuccessful requests per innings.

What happens if a match ends in a tie?

The teams will compete in a Super Over. If the Super Over is also tied, the teams will continue to play Super Overs until one of them wins. In any case like weather or time constraints, the Super Over is not possible then the game will be declared a tie and each team will be awarded one point.

If a result is not achieved during a semi-final (or the match is abandoned), the team that finished first in its Super 12 group advances to the final. If something similar occurs in the final, both teams will be declared joint winners.

Reserves Day For T20 World Cup 2021

Group-stage games have no reserve days; only the semi-finals and final have reserve days. Match officials will attempt to finish the game on the scheduled day; if this is not possible, the match will be resumed on the reserve day.

If a game is shortened, a minimum of five overs must be bowled in each innings for the group stage result to be determined. A minimum of ten overs is required for the semi-final and final.

Rewards For T20 World Cup 2021

The winners will receive $1.6 million, the runners-up $800,000, and the losing semi-finalists each will receive $400,000.


Yes, but only in a limited capacity. Oman’s Al Amerat Stadium has constructed a temporary structure to accommodate 3000 fans. The Oman government has mandated that all visitors to the country, including the stadium, be fully vaccinated. In the UAE, all venues will be operating at roughly 70% of their maximum capacity. Fans in Abu Dhabi must be twice vaccinated to enter the stadium, but not in Dubai or Sharjah. They will be required to wear masks at all times.

Favorites team to win the tournament

If there is a team that can be considered a favorite, it has to be England. However, the defending champions, West Indies and India, are more than capable of dethroning them, and New Zealand and Pakistan should not be underestimated.

The Daily Story
The Daily Storyhttps://www.the-daily-story.com
Discover a captivating article where knowledge meets inspiration. Engaging articles, stories, and tips await, fueling your curiosity and enriching your mind. Join us on this enlightening journey.

Latest Articles


Related Articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.