Bangladesh announced the squad for T20 WC

Bangladesh announced the squad for T20 WC on Thursday, and there were no real surprises (September 9). Rubel Hossain, an experienced fast bowler, was one notable omission, as he was demoted to the reserves. Rubel was not considered despite being part of the squad for the home series against New Zealand. Last seen for the national side in this format in April of this year in New Zealand. The 31-year-old fast bowler has played 28 T20Is so far.

Mahmudullah will lead a strong team that just won the series against Australia and New Zealand at home. Because Tamim Iqbal withdrew from the tournament, Soumya Sarkar’s poor performance against Australia didn’t matter. Only 28 runs were scored by the left-hander against Australia in five innings. He hasn’t played against New Zealand in the first four games.

The selectors have dropped four players from the 19-man squad that was selected to face New Zealand. And they didn’t add any new players from outside. Only Rubel was left out of the mix, as was the trio of Mosaddek Hossein, Taijul Islam, and Aminul Islam. It has been announced that legspinner Aminul will be one of the standby players along with Rubel. Mohammed Mithun was not considered for the team.

This is the first time since 2003 that the Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced a World Cup squad without Tamim Iqbal.

However, there are seven cricketers in the squad who have not yet played World Cup cricket in any format. They are Nurul Hasan Sohan, Nasum Ahmed, Afif Hossain, Sheikh Mehedi, Shariful Islam, Mohammad Naeem, and Shamim Patwari.

To qualify for the Super 12, Bangladesh must finish in the top two places in Group B. This group includes Oman, PNG, and Scotland. On the first day of the tournament, October 17, they will face Scotland.

Bangladesh Squad:

  1. Mahmudullah (c),
  2. Shakib Al Hasan,
  3. Mushfiqur Rahim,
  4. Soumya Sarkar,
  5. Liton Kumar Das,
  6. Afif Hossain,
  7. Mohammad
  8. Naim,
  9. Nurul Hasan Sohan,
  10. Shamim Hossain,
  11. Mustafizur Rahman,
  12. Taskin Ahmed,
  13. Mohammad Saifuddin,
  14. Shoriful Islam,
  15. Mahedi Hasan,
  16. Nasum Ahmed.
The Daily Story
The Daily Storyhttps://www.the-daily-story.com
Discover a captivating article where knowledge meets inspiration. Engaging articles, stories, and tips await, fueling your curiosity and enriching your mind. Join us on this enlightening journey.

Latest Articles


Related Articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.